Cenesthopathy

Cenesthopathy is a distressing, unpleasant bodily sensation localized on the surface of the body or in internal organs, which has no objectness and appears in the absence of any objective pathological process in the area of its localization.

 

Cenesthopathy is a frequent symptom of mental illness.

 

In this project, consisting of 12 paintings, I relate a sequence of painful, excruciating experiences that followed one another untill my psychiatrist prescribed a certain medicine that removed those awful symptoms.

 

Each painting represents one of 12 experiences I had during this fit, which lasted about 15 hours.

 

The feelings were undoubtedly negative and painful, and still there was something interesting and unusual about it. And I guess that’s what I wanted to express in my project.

 

I consciously avoided painting this as a story of pain and sorrow because this experience means something more than simply pain and sorrow. There is even something beautiful about it. Like a war can be beautiful, for instance. It’s strange but that is the idea I wanted to express.

Сенестопатия

Сенестопа́ти́я — тягостное, неприятное телесное ощущение, локализуемое на поверхности тела или во внутренних органах, лишённое предметности, возникающее в отсутствие объективного патологического процесса в месте её локализации. 

 

Сенестопатии — частый симптом психических расстройств.

 

В этом проекте, состоящем из 12 холстов, я повествую о череде моих болезненных, мучительных состояний, которые сменяли друг друга с момента начала приступа до момента, когда и я принял препарат, снявший эти ужасные симптомы назначенный моей психиатром.

 

Каждая картина – это 1 из 12 состояний которые мне пришлось испытать во время обострения, длившегося около 15 часов.

 

Эти мои переживания однозначно имели болезненную и негативную окраску, но было в этом и что-то интересное и необычное. И это, пожалуй, именно то, что я хотел передать.

 

Я осознанно не сделал работы в контексте грусти и боли, потому что этот опыт нечто большее чем просто грусть и боль. В этом есть даже что-то прекрасное. Как, например, может быть прекрасна война. Это странно, но именно это я и хотел передать.